Tags

, , , , ,

Avoiding sugar means making some interesting things. Some of it has not been so yummy and some of it has turned out so well I want to make more. This recipe is from the book “Preserving with Pomona’s Pectin”. Pomona’s is a preservative and sugar free pectin that can be used with alternative sugars such as honey, maple syrup, agave nectar, fruit juice concentrate, sucanant, stevia, xylitol, and if you wish, regular white sugar. I ordered my large bulk quantity through Amazon which was far cheaper than the local organic food store. One of the things that is also very different about this pectin is it comes with a calcium powder. The calcium powder activates the jellied portion of the pectin and it is NOT optional. For expert advice on preserving with Pomona’s you will need to search another site. This is my FIRST time ever using it, but I am really excited to be able to make some preserves that my daughter and I can eat. My plans are to use it in yogurt, kefir, ice cream, and on grain free biscuits.

I first washed, hulled, and cut up the strawberries. I then walked out to the garden and gathered my rhubarb which then needed to be diced, boiled, and blended.

rhubarb

I used my handy stick blender. I LOVE that thing!

rhubarb sauce1

The rhubarb sauce, calcium water, mashed strawberries, and lemon juice were mixed in a sauce pan. This was brought to a slow boil.

jam

Next step in the process was to slowly added the honey and pectin mixture to the boiling sauce after I mixed them together thoroughly.

honey pectin

When all the honey was incorporated into the sauce it was ready to jar up and process in a water bath canner. The end product was very yummy and set up much like a freezer jam consistency. THIS is a recipe I will be making a lot of.

straw rhub jars

Recipe: ( I have changed it slightly from the recipe in the book)

2 cups of washed, hulled, and mashed strawberries
2 cups of boiled and pureed rhubarb (add about 1/2 cup of water to start boiling)
2 T lemon juice
2t. calcium water ( to make the water use 1/2 t. calcium powder to 1/2 cup water)
1 cup of honey
2.5 t. Pomona’s pectin

Process for 10 minutes in water bath canner. Let cool 5 to 10 minutes before removing from water and wait for that magic POP of the lids as they seal.  It can take a few hours so don’t worry if they don’t POP right away.  After 24 hours remove rings, check to be sure they are sealed by lightly tugging on the lid,  wash outside of jar, and label (I don’t buy fancy labels. I use masking tape).  I store my home canned goods in a cool dark place.

